Handguns are preferred for civilians because they can be easily concealed, while law enforcement carries them for ease of access. If you are a first time gun buyer for personal protection, you must know about getting a permit. Obtaining a gun permit is important. While many people consider gun ownership to simply create and increase the current crime in the country, you may find them to be a means of self-protection. Anyone who owns and carries a gun, especially when traveling out of town you must bring your legal documents.
Must Be a Georgia Resident
With the current increase in home invasions and crime, homeowners want to be able to protect their loved ones in case something happens. To be eligible to acquire a Georgia firearms permit, you must be a Georgia resident or on active duty at a Georgia base code 16-11-129. To obtain a gun permit, you must be able to answer no to some questions.
Must Be at the Right Age
You will not be issued a gun permit if you are in one of the following classes. Under 21 years of age are not allowed to have any firearms. Have committed a violent crime and have not been free from restrictions and supervision for five years from the date of application. Have been convicted of violating code and have not been free from restraints and supervision for some time since the date of application.
Must Not Be Involved in a Crime
Having been admitted to a psychiatric hospital or alcohol or drug treatment facility within five years of the date of the petition the probation judge may consider the root cause of the admission and decide whether to grant permission. Be convicted plead guilty and be found guilty by a court of competent jurisdiction of a crime of unlawful manufacture, delivery, possession, or use of a controlled substance or another harmful drug. After answering all questions and obtaining your license in this manner, you will need to be fingerprinted.
Must Fill Out the Permit Application
How much does the license cost? You may also be charged a fingerprinting fee, and to confirm this cost, you will probably want to call ahead. You can go to fill out a permit application. You will need to apply for your handgun permit at the Probate Court in your county. You may want to see all the paperwork at your local courthouse.
How long does it take to get a permit? Normally, it can take up to 90 days to receive a handgun license. You will be notified of the wait time at your local courthouse when you fill out your gun license application, which will affect the actual wait time in your county.…